Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Deleting Pages

Jump to instructions for:

Launch Contribute

  1. Launch Contribute.
  2. Double click the desktop icon: contribute buttonYou can also:
    • Windows: select Contribute from the Start menu (Start > Programs > Macromedia > Macromedia Contribute 3).
    • Macintosh: double click Contribute in the Finder (Applications > Macromedia Contribute 3 > Contribute).
  3. Under Begin editing my websites (center of window), click the connection to your web site. If your web site is not listed you will have to Create a Connection.
  4. Your web site will load in the Contribute window.
    If you receive an error that says "Please contact your administrator," click Connect (top left of Contribute's browser).screenshot of error message

Delete your page

  1. In Contribute, browse to the page you want to delete as you would in a web browser.
  2. Click the File menu (top left of window).
  3. Click the Actions submenu.
  4. Choose the Delete Page option.screenshot of how to delete page

If "Delete Page" is not available, e-mail web@wcas.northwestern.edu or visit the Contact Us page.

You will be prompted with the following question: "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this web page? Doing so might cause broken links on other pages on your website." screenshot of prompt to delete page

Click Yes to complete your action.

Delete your documents

These are instructions on deleting pages that Contribute cannot edit. This includes ".doc" files, ".pdf" files, and other linked documents.

  1. In Contribute, using the process below, browse to the document you want to delete.
    • Go to the View menu.
    • Click on Choose File on Website...screenshot of deleting documents
  2. Browse through the folders until your file is located.
    screenshot of the browse window
     
  3. Now that you've opened your file, follow these steps to delete:
    • Click the File menu (top left of window).
    • Click the Actions submenu.
    • Choose the Delete Page option.screenshot of deleting a page

      You will be prompted with the following question: "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this web page? Doing so might cause broken links on other pages on your website." screenshot of prompt to delete page

      Click Yes to complete your action.
Back to top